5 Dimensions of Wellness

Change

Well guys week one is done! Whew…. and it was rough. Let me tell ya. I learned some very important things about myself and my direction. This week I chose to work on the dimension of physical wellness, and it was a process.

So I set a goal this week to work on my physical wellness by getting up a little earlier each day and doing 20 minutes of a workout. I had a few exercises picked out and my plan all set. It was going to work out great. I wanted to work out 4 days out of the week. Well,….. I did not achieve this goal to put things lightly. I only worked out twice and only in the morning once. I felt bad at first about not reaching the full goal. But, then I took a step back and gave myself a break.

beach-logoI’m almost 6 months pregnant right now, and I’m working a full time job. This week was a little crazy for me with other things going on in my life. I’m not a quitter, so I’m gearing up for my next week with some tweaks to my original goal. Btw I have done this before, wake up and work out for 15 min before work, but not as consecutively since I’ve been pregnant. I do feel great once I’ve done it though.

I was able to identify my biggest challenge which is part of the batter when making goals. My biggest challenge is making sure I get enough sleep! I am a morning person generally, but I am not when I don’t get enough sleep. That is one step I made in the progress direction. Get more sleep! Haha

So changing my goal around a little I am moving forward with a thought in mind. Having goals is great. Setting them and moving toward them helps us make progress and not become stagnant. However I know I get a little carried away sometimes in the little details of my list of goals and forget the big picture. When this happens even if we are accomplishing the small tasks that add up to our big goal, we can still miss the target. So I would like to leave this thought with you for the week. This is a quote from the modern day LDS Prophet President Thomas S. Monson, “Never let a problem to be solved become more important than a person to be loved.”

Leave a Reply

